Maybe the Question Isn’t “Why?”…

…maybe it’s “why not?”…

Touching down at LAX was…hmmm….let me see if I can find all the words to describe it: exciting, familiar yet refreshing, exhausting…and warm.  Thank goodness for warmth!  Landing in a place that’s 30 degrees warmer makes for thought-out wardrobe choices and strategic packing.  Uggs, stretch pants, layers of sweatshirts, a scarf and a jacket were a must for leaving Oregon.  Being cold on a plane is never enjoyable and cozying up to the sweet old man next to you probably isn’t appropriate.  You have to fly prepared.  And when you land, your wardrobe change needs to be as effortless as Clark Kent’s.  I stood at baggage claim a little longer than I’d hoped.  Thoughts of missing luggage crossed my mind a few times and that never really worries me.  Did someone mistakenly leave with my jumbo suitcase and oversized body bag?  I started sweating in my Uggs.

About 20 minutes later, my life–packed into two big bags–came down the conveyor belt.  I smiled with reassurance and quickly discarded the chaotic thoughts of “what if…”.  Nobody took my stuff.  And nobody would understand all that’s in there anyway.  If they left with it, they would surely bring it right back!  And that thought right there not only makes me smile.  It makes me giggle, too.  If I’m the only one who understands a life packed into bags, that’s okay.  It’s more than okay!  Claim it and love it.  That’s the whole point, right?!

I heaved the bags off the conveyor belt and unzipped my body bag.  My flip flops were on top, right where I placed them.  I kicked off my swampy Uggs, put on my Havaianas and took off a few top layers, too.  Much better!  My winter gear, once again, shoved into my bag and zipped up.  And again, smiling…because I know I won’t need winter clothes for a long time!

I made the trek out of the airport doors with 100 pounds of luggage, only to find I couldn’t breathe deeply just yet.  There was an overwhelming amount of second hand smoke and car exhaust to add to the LAX welcome–whoa!  But finally, as I reached the curb and out of the smoke cloud–a familiar car and a familiar face.  A big hug from Nate and a quick exit from the crowded airport, windows down and sunshine…it might not be fresh Oregon air, but I could truly breathe!

In the short time it took to drive to Nate’s apartment, we decided a few relaxing beach days were on tap.  Twist my arm!

277
All I need~Hermosa Beach
And a few laughs from Nate of course
And a few laughs from Nate of course

283 284

We juiced!  And soaked up some more sunshine…

Hermosa...
Hermosa…
...beautiful indeed.
…beautiful indeed.

Catching up with Nate in my favorite breathing space (the beach–you know this by now right? 🙂 ) were two perfect doses of familiarity I needed before stepping out and facing uncertainty.  Again!

To move forward towards any new goal or new life, we have to let go of what’s comfortable (gulp).  We have to let go of other people’s visions, hopes and dreams that they have for us (that one is even harder for me to swallow).  We have to let go of false loyalty–staying in situations that no longer serve our best self and consequentially, the people around us, whom we dearly love.  All of these things have been my biggest lessons recently.

Holding on to what we know can keep our vibration low.  We are meant to vibrate at a higher frequency.  Not merely exist in this dream of life.  What excites you?  What scares you?  That’s your compass telling you where to go.  We light up when we are excited.  We are Light and we are meant to SHINE.

Valentine’s Day this year was the start of a new chapter for me.  Moving to a place I’ve pondered about and caught myself day-dreaming of for many years.  A place I loved to visit as a child on family trips and of course as an “adult”!  With my car all packed up, I was on the road heading east (eventually north, too), away from my beloved Pacific Ocean.

Destination:  Las Vegas (insert all the nicknames here)!

So here I am, waking up in Las Vegas.  Surprisingly, I’ve had a full night’s sleep and my liver isn’t working overtime.  Everything here seems spacious–from the kitchen I get to cook in to the mountains ranges around me.  This abundant amount of space excites me.  It’s as simple as that.  Creating space is a fertile ground for creativity and endless opportunity.  My plan here is to continue sharing my love for health and yoga through many different avenues, as well as trying new things altogether–stay posted.

I received a text from a friend in San Diego a few weeks ago,

“Hey, are you in town?”

No, I just moved to Las Vegas :)”

“What?  Ok…good luck…why Vegas…I mean, why not Vegas?!”

My thought exactly 🙂

Palm trees, blue skies and The Strip
Palm trees, blue skies and The Strip

A huge bonus living here: lots of visitors!

Two of my all time favs–Brendan and Kyndra…

035 049

The monochromatic neighborhoods give the sky an extra pop of blue color.
The monochromatic neighborhoods give the sky an extra pop of blue color.
It's not a beach promenade, but it's still quaint.
It’s not a beach promenade, but it’s quaint.
I've missed this type of scenery. Palm trees for days!
I’ve missed this type of scenery. Palm trees for days!
Finally unpacking everything I own. Oh the treasures you find! Pictures of sweet little Leo <3
Finally unpacking everything I own. Oh the treasures you find! Pictures of sweet little Leo ❤
And precious artwork from Zoey!
And precious artwork from Zoey!
We've had some snow...
We’ve had some snow…
...and some rain clouds. But look at that view. I love just being able to see The Strip.
…and some rain clouds. But look at that view of The Strip!
Most mornings consist of coffee, music and writing.
Most mornings consist of coffee, music and writing.
Making time for fresh juice and soaking up the sun. Act surprised.
Making time for fresh juice and soaking up the sun. Surprised?
My go-to recipe: celery, cucumbers, carrots and ginger.
My go-to recipe: celery, cucumbers, carrots and ginger.
What is life without pizza and basketball? #ripcity
What is life without pizza and basketball?
#ripcity!
#ripcity!

039 120

Nevada has a serious infatuation with personalized license plates. "menbabe" What's a men babe? Mandi helped me out with this one...maybe it's "me n babe"??
Nevada has a serious infatuation with personalized license plates. “menbabe” What’s a men babe? Mandi helped me out with this one…maybe it’s “me n babe”??
The Strip at night, you just have to say "Vegas, Baby!"
The Strip at night, you just have to say “Vegas, Baby!”

xoxo~SG

 

 

Leave a Reply

