(Part 1) Family! And Another Pot of Coffee, Please

For how big our families are and for all the time we spent with them this summer, another pot of coffee to help me through this post isn’t asking much.  All joking aside, well, I’m not even joking…Nate gladly brewed another pot.

There is a lot to reflect on when spending time with family.  And I’m one who enjoys family time…when else can you truly relax and have home cooked food at your beck and call?  Family is second to none.  One truth behind not blogging for almost four months is probably my own pressure of perfection…wanting to portray how special the time was that we spent with both of our families.  But I suppose even if you don’t “get it” fully, these people and these moments are still going to be priceless to me.  And I’ve come to the conclusion that not blogging every specific moment is okay, too.  It’s alright to keep some moments for myself.  Overall, I do want to share and today is the perfect day for blogging (since I’ve already read two other people’s blogs and they are so touching EVERY time (Pamela and Jessica:)  Thank you for the inspiration.  So here’s a little bit of our time spent in Oregon (Utah in Part II)!

First stop, Bend:

2014-06-10 12.03.20
Hiking with my mom, Mister (aka, Deontay, Tay, Tay Bear) and Nate
2014-06-10 12.25.05
This duo. And Riley-Roo in tow!

2014-06-10 12.01.36

2014-06-10 12.23.59-1

The last place I thought Guy would recommend for a barber shop would be a Ducks one. But oh well. Nate liked it AND they served complimentary beer.
The last place I thought Guy would recommend for a barber shop would be a Ducks one. But oh well. Nate liked it AND they served complimentary beer.
Heading to the rodeo and eating seaweed.
Heading to the rodeo and eating seaweed.
Deontay without his mom...but with Nate, so he was happy.
Deontay without his mom…but with Nate, so he was happy.
Guy and my mom bundled up for a cold night ahead.
Guy and my mom bundled up for a cold night ahead.
Watching World Cup soccer. Nate's enthusiasm about it was infectious and even had my mom asking when the next game would be:)
Watching World Cup soccer. Nate’s enthusiasm about it was infectious and even had my mom asking when the next game would be:)
Guy gave us a tour of North Rim Brewing and shared the perks with us. Excellent beer!
Guy gave us a tour of North Rim Brewing and shared the perks with us. Excellent beer!
Nate playing with my niece Olivia. We "adults" celebrated her 1st birthday for a weekend...
Nate playing with my niece Olivia. We “adults” celebrated her 1st birthday for a weekend…
It was Total Request...Bend (TRB)! Nate entertained my family in true fashion that night; with music, music videos and dancing.
It was Total Request…Bend (TRB)! Nate entertained my family in true fashion that night; with music, music videos and dancing.
Maybe one of those "you had to be there moments"?...folding up the Pack-n-Play. How many adults does it take...
Maybe one of those “you had to be there moments”?…folding up the Pack-n-Play. How many adults does it take…
Grampa guy with the birthday girl. So sweet.
Grampa guy with the birthday girl. So sweet.
The neighborhood kids...
The neighborhood kids…
...ages 5-32 (Nate, you're a good sport. They loved you. "Can I be on Nate's team?")
…ages 5-32 (Nate, you’re a good sport. They loved you. “Can I be on Nate’s team?”)
Meanwhile, the girls headed to the local Denfeld Miller Paint for an inspiring Feng Shui presentation.
Meanwhile, the girls headed to the local Denfeld Miller Paint for an inspiring Feng Shui presentation.
So inspiring that we put our new notes to use and "Feng Shui'd" my parents' house. Deontay helped, too ;)
So inspiring that we put our new notes to use and “Feng Shui’d” my parents’ house. Deontay helped, too 😉
Celebrating Guy's birthday, holding up the card Mister made him.
Celebrating Guy’s birthday, holding up the card Mister made him.
After leaving Bend, we made it to Corvallis to see the Starwalts. Payton couldn't wait to show us her new playground (and this outfit, her own creation:)!
After leaving Bend, we made it to Corvallis to see the Starwalts. Payton couldn’t wait to show us her new playground (and this outfit, her own creation:)!
And she let us borrow her room for the night. Pink and extra princess-y!
And she let us borrow her room for the night. Pink and extra princess-y!
We made our way to Portland and saw these sweet Whisler boys.
We made our way to Portland and saw these sweet Whisler boys.
We spent a week at the beach in Seaside and soaked up 80 degree weather.
We spent a week at the beach in Seaside and soaked up 80 degree weather.
It wouldn't be time well spent at the beach without Crab Fest. Thank you Karla and Steve!
It wouldn’t be time well spent at the beach without Crab Fest. Thank you Karla and Steve!
Shopping with Kar Kar and Kyrell in Cannon Beach. Nate's family happened to be in Oregon at the same time we visited. Gotta love synchronicity :)
Shopping with Kar Kar and Kyrell in Cannon Beach. Nate’s family happened to be in Oregon at the same time we visited. Gotta love synchronicity 🙂
These sunsets, oh how I missed them!
These sunsets, oh how I missed them!
Relaxing on the porch, drink in hand....contentment.
Relaxing on the porch, drink in hand….contentment.
And how about a ride on the Harley? Thanks, Dad!
And how about a ride on the Harley? Thanks, Dad!
The evenings did get cold.
The evenings did get cold.
But thoroughly enjoying this scenery.
But thoroughly enjoyed this scenery.
4th of July festivities! Our first time at the Gearhart parade.
4th of July festivities! Our first time at the Gearhart parade.
My brother Sammy in the parade <3
My brother Sammy in the parade ❤
Playing tourist. Phillips Candies in hand at the Turn-a-round.
Playing tourist. Phillips Candies in hand at the Turn-a-round.
The Stand. Need I say more?
The Stand. Need I say more?
And these girls!! Formerly Hawken, LaMarche and Arndt. Now Wunderlich, DeHaan and Johnson.
And these girls!! Formerly Hawken, LaMarche and Arndt. Now Wunderlich, DeHaan and Johnson but the same young faces from high school!
So many laughs.
So many laughs.

And that was that!  Our time in Oregon was up.  Believe it or not, there are more pictures.  And even some that I cannot find or wish I had.  But I’m setting perfect organization aside (or lack of it) and going with what I have to share:)  Four weeks in Oregon sounds like a lot, but there were many faces we didn’t get to see.  And those whom we did, I hope there’s more time in store in the future to spend together.  So grateful to have been back in my home state and so grateful to Nate for being SUCH a sport.

PDX-SLC
PDX-SLC

Dun, dun, dun…off to meet Nate’s family! 🙂

Leave a Reply

