And The Master Replied…

“You are not here to sacrifice your joy or your life.  You are here to live, to be happy, and to love.”



“The Four Agreements” by Don Miguel Ruiz is an oldie but goodie for me.  A small book and light in weight, it seemed silly not to pack this time around.  (No I don’t have a Kindle–call me primitive!)  Its basic fundamentals have spoken to me time and time again.  Usually my focus is ‘don’t take anything personally’ and it helps me step back in any situation and be understanding.  But this time, I found something else.  The thought has always lingered in my mind, but now it was right in front of my face: The Angel of Death.  Sounds a bit dark, but hang on.

     Yesterday, I officially started writing in my new journal (thank you Kim and Ross!).  I like to write a quote on the first page of each journal for focus on what’s to come and simply for a good reminder whenever I open my journal (see above from The Master for this journal).  But I couldn’t help but write this story of the Angel of Death as well:

     The Angel of Death can teach us to live every day as if it is the last day of our lives, as if there may be no tomorrow.  We can begin each day by saying, “I am awake, I see the sun.  I am going to give my gratitude to the sun and to everything and everyone, because I am still alive.  One more day to be myself.”  That is the way I see life, that is what the angel of death taught me–to be completely open, to know that there is nothing to be afraid of.  And of course I treat the people I love with LOVE because this may be the last day that I can tell you how much I love you.  I don’t know if I am going to see you again, so I don’t want to fight with you.  (p. 119)

   We are seizing each and every day so far.  I love the simplicity of it–waking up with the sun, coffee in bed, yoga by the pool, awesome breakfasts, swimsuits, yes we use tons of sunscreen, too (I’m Native American Indian and I’m telling myself I’m MEANT to be this dark:), swimming in the pool, swimming in the ocean, napping, reading, writing and listening to music, all while slowing down (putting the phone AWAY) and looking around–taking in the beauty that surrounds.  I’m sure at some point in the future, we will start to plan a life and call one place home.  But I’m putting that aside, too, and approaching each day as if THIS is my job and my purpose.

I am living, I am happy and I am choosing love.

IMG_4698
Nate picked me up at the airport with this “Welcome Home” balloon:)
IMG_4572
Isn’t he sweet?! (This is actually the room NEXT to ours, but we pretended it was for us:)
IMG_4646
He kills me. Button your shirt! (Doing his best Dominican photo shoot)

009 011 013 020 041 044 053 055 080 082 111 114 120 IMG_4573 IMG_4591 IMG_4613 IMG_4619 IMG_4651 IMG_4712 IMG_4718

Leave a Reply

