Part One: Adios, Peru!

Sunday was our last full day in Zorritos, Peru.  I was glad it had finally arrived, but I didn’t want the day to pass too quickly.  The beach was beckoning us and we had new friends to say farewell to…AND there was also the Super Bowl to watch later that evening.  I’m going to keep you guessing as to which one of us was more excited for the football game;)  At any rate, a bit of things to do before the dreaded packing.  It’s like a long, horrible math problem for me.  How do I get all of these clothes and toiletries into such a small space?  Is it even possible? always crosses my mind.  And does it really save room to roll the shirts instead of folding them as flat as I can?  Just one example as to why I must practice yoga.  My untrained mind is way too busy for my sanity.

So, we started our Sunday morning by making coffee and by that I mean, Nate makes it and has me taste test it.  For the record, it’s always good!  We took ourselves and our hot coffee to the beach.  We jumped in the refreshing ocean one last time and then enjoyed the warm sunshine and cool ocean breeze.  There, I had time to reflect on our final week in the TEFL program…

Friday was our last day of the month-long program (hallelujah!) and we all taught our final classes on Thursday night–endless hours of prep, teaching classes from scratch–I wasn’t sure if that day would ever come!  And to kick off that busy week, we celebrated my 33rd birthday on Monday.  It was low-key (just the way I like it), but Nate made sure it was extra special, too.  We had dinner at our favorite restaurant in Zorritos: Casa Kresala.  The food was amazing as always and I’m pretty sure there was a mojito or two consumed.  I had zero room for dessert, but ate it anyway.  To add to that, Nate also bought me 3 slices of cake for our fridge at home.  Good thing birthdays only come once a year!

It was a wonderful birthday, sharing laughs with new friends (6 of us in total for this inaugural Zorritos TEFL program!).  I had told Nate last summer, when we were planning our 2014 Adventure, that I wanted to be in a city I’d never been before, by my birthday.  I wasn’t sure where I wanted to be, but a “summer time” birthday and palm trees would be a huge plus.  To look around and realize that the plan unfolded perfectly, was pretty cool.  My suggestions weren’t high on my priority list (simply packing up and leaving for a new journey were), but they were intentions none-the-less.  Intentions are proving to be very strong forces–God/the Universe/(insert any higher power here) is listening!  Our final week was worth the reflection and I was thankful to be on the beach, doing just that.

Potato chips come with a packet of mayonnaise!!! Gross.
Potato chips come with a packet of mayonnaise!!! Gross.
Officially 33!
Officially 33!
Willy and Cleo at Casa Kresala are simply amazing.
Willy and Cleo at Casa Kresala are simply amazing.
Nate the animal lover.
Nate the animal lover.
Soccer/basketball/beach--all in one place.
Soccer/basketball/beach–all in one place.
And officially certified!
And officially certified!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

